Detoxificaty your body through Ashtanga yoga

Ashtanga Yoga

Yoga has indeed emerged as a hot word of domestic vocabulary in the past few years. This is quite evident from the fact that right from the ashrams of India to the studios abroad, yoga has gained soaring popularity in every nook and cranny of the globe. As expected numerous cultures and philosophies have had an impact on yoga and this ancient art has evolved as contemporary and reflective of the modern way of life.

Precisely speaking, one such traditional yet widely practiced yoga forms is the Ashtanga yoga which aims at fostering the mind, body and soul of an individual via specific yoga poses, meditation and synchronized breathing. The term “ashtanga” basically refers to “eight limbs” in Sanskrit and is derived from the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. It was brought into life by Sri K. Pattbhi Jois and T. Krishnamacharya with the aid of an ancient text of yoga essentials called yoga Korunta in 1948. Well, Ashtanga yoga lays stress on the practice of the vinyasa flow on a daily basis along with the incorporation of the six Astanga series that are all self-paced.

Series of Poses

Series 1: Yoga Chikitsa

As just discussed, there are a total of six different series of poses in Ashtanga yoga. The very first one is the Yoga Chikitsa or commonly known as the yoga therapy. This series comprises of the proper realignment of the spine besides the adequate detoxification of the body. Apart from that this series also enhances the stamina, flexibility and strength. Overall within a duration of 2 hours, there are about 75 poses that need to be completed, starting off with two different salutations – surya namaskara A and B then proceeding on standing, seated poses, inversions, backbends to end with relaxation or meditation.

Series 2: Nadi Shodana

This series precisely implies the purification of the nervous system. It is focused on strengthening and cleansing the nervous system (brain, spinal cord and nerves) via the body’s energy channels.

Series 3 to Series 6: Sthira Bhaga

This range of series constitutes the group of the four advanced series remaining from the Six Series of Poses in Ashtanga yoga. The term Sthira Bhaga literally refers to “divine stability”, and mainly aims at strengthening the connection of a person to the divinity within him. So, tough arm balances are executed to  indicate that only the advanced Ashtanga students are able to perform the Sthira Bhaga practice.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s